VistaHelp.ca Forum Index VistaHelp.ca
Windows Vista Help Forums
FAQFAQ SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Can't broadcast Ping on LAN Vista to XP
Goto page 1, 2Next
Post new topic VistaHelp.ca Forum Index -> Networking
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Greg



Joined: 20 May 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 3:26 am Post subject: Can't broadcast Ping on LAN Vista to XP

I am writing some software and when I send a ping to 255.255.255.255 on Vista, the message is not received by the other PCs running Windows XP. If I run the program on any XP machine, the ping is received by all other PCs including the Vista one.

If I send the ping directly to 192.168.1.#, it does arrive.

I have tried using the command line Ping application to reproduce the results. Not sure if the behavior relates to my app. From vista, pinging 192.168.1.255 times out. From XP, I get results from some other PCs.

I have tried disabling firewalls on all systems. I have tried running the app as Administrator.

I have no idea why my broadcast packets are not being received from a Vista machine. Anyone have an idea what is stopping them?
Back to top
Send private message
TechB
Site Admin


Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 2109
Location: BC, Canada

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 7:14 am Post subject:

That's an interesting question. I don't know the answer. A quick Google search doesn't turn up anything other than other people have noticed this and according to the RFC a host can ignore broadcast echo requests if they want to. I also took a look at the Windows firewall and didn't see anything there that might block it. I'll ask some of the networking experts I know. If I hear anything back I'll update this thread.
_________________
TechB
Microsoft MVP Windows - Shell/User
www.kdbsystems.com
Back to top
Send private message Visit poster's website
Greg



Joined: 20 May 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2007 3:03 am Post subject:

Thank you very much for your time, trying to assist myself and others with these issues.
Back to top
Send private message
Sooner Al



Joined: 14 Apr 2007
Posts: 11
Location: Norman, Oklahoma

PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2007 3:26 am Post subject:

FWIW department...

All pings between my Vista boxes and my one XP box fail unless I use the specific IP address for any particular machine, ie. 192.168.2.10 for example.
_________________
"When all else fails, read the instructions..."

Al Jarvi
MS-MVP Windows Networking
[http://mvp.support.microsoft.com]
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights...
Back to top
Send private message
TechB
Site Admin


Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 2109
Location: BC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 7:24 am Post subject:

I've been playing with this. I get the same results in XP or Vista if I ping 255.255.255.255 or xxx.xxx.xxx.255 where xxx.xxx.xxx is the local subnet. Can you post your results from XP and Vista?
_________________
TechB
Microsoft MVP Windows - Shell/User
www.kdbsystems.com
Back to top
Send private message Visit poster's website
Greg



Joined: 20 May 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 5:44 am Post subject:

I'm not sure exactly what 'ping 192.168.1.255' does, as it certainly does not get a response from every PC on the LAN.

On Vista:
Code:

Pinging 192.168.1.255 with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.255:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

On XP:
Code:

Pinging 192.168.1.255 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.235: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.235: bytes=32 time Reply from 192.168.1.235: bytes=32 time Reply from 192.168.1.235: bytes=32 time
Ping statistics for 192.168.1.255:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 0ms

On this LAN, any XP finds this 1 other IP. Vista finds nothing. There is only one Vista PC on this LAN, so I can't test Vista to Vista.
Back to top
Send private message
TechB
Site Admin


Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 2109
Location: BC, Canada

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 6:07 am Post subject:

Can you post ipconfig /all from the computer at 192.168.1.235?
_________________
TechB
Microsoft MVP Windows - Shell/User
www.kdbsystems.com
Back to top
Send private message Visit poster's website
Greg



Joined: 20 May 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 3:15 am Post subject:

TechB wrote:
Can you post ipconfig /all from the computer at 192.168.1.235?

Don't think I can... That isn't a PC, its a wireless access point.
Back to top
Send private message
TechB
Site Admin


Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 2109
Location: BC, Canada

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 7:27 am Post subject:

That explains a lot. Is it also a DHCP server? I would expect a DHCP server to respond to broadcasts. Does anything else on the network respond or just the access point?
_________________
TechB
Microsoft MVP Windows - Shell/User
www.kdbsystems.com
Back to top
Send private message Visit poster's website
Greg



Joined: 20 May 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 4:26 pm Post subject:

I don't think the wireless point is a DHCP server. There is a router at 192.168.1.1 which is (and should be the sole) DHCP server though. And no, that is the only thing on the network that responds to the broadcast ping described earlier.
Back to top
Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic VistaHelp.ca Forum Index -> Networking All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page 1, 2Next
Page 1 of 2


Jump to:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group